Nutshell: Me

Twenty-six things about me…

A – If you were an ANIMAL, what would you be?
My personality is  can best be represented by a cat – fiercely
independent, cuddly on my own terms, and always well-groomed.

B – BOOKS: What’s on your reading list?
This is an impossible question especially for a librarian. My
reading list is constantly evolving. If the question had been, what
are your favorite books I could easily answer.

My favorite reads:
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Color Purple by Alice Walker
Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

C – COMPULSIVE about anything?
Um… I’m a librarian. It’s what we do. In all seriousness, I have a
compulsion related to the grocery store. I shop the store, load the
cart, and unload the cart how I want it bagged. All of this is a
strategy that helps me when I get home. Also, I absolutely cannot
shop in stores that has shelving to the ceiling. It makes me
nervous.

D – DREAMS: Do you dream in color? Remember your dreams?
It is very rare for me to not remember a dream or portion of a
dream each night. The most remarkable characteristic of my
dreams are the vivid colors. My technicolor dreams are detailed
are often rooted in very specific realities or fantasies.

E – EATING: What’s your usual snack?
Typically I prefer salty sacks like popcorn, pretzels, or nuts.
Occasionally a sweet snack is on the agenda and I can never
turn down ice cream!

F – A few of your FAVORITE things.
Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…
Shoes, the September issue of Vogue, Nutella, Doctor Who

G – GIGGLES! What or who makes you laugh? Do you have a good
sense of humor?
Just like everyone thinks they have style, everyone thinks they have
a good sense of humor. Most are wrong on both counts but I’m a
funny bitch. Who makes me laugh? My kid, my husband, and my best
friend. There is humor all around us and those three really know how
to enjoy life. I believe in the healing power of laughter and its
importance for our souls.

H – Major HOT button:
People who take credit for the work of others.
Oh and bad drivers.

I – I am…
one-of-a-kind!

J – JUMP, JIVE & wail! What are your favorite dance tunes?
I Wanna Go by Britney Spears
Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.) by Katy Perry
Moves Like Jagger by Maroon 5
Raise Your Glass by P!nk
S&M by Rihanna

K – Also KNOWN as… Aliases? Screen names? Non de plume?
I’m Moxie. That’s all you need to know!

L – I LOVE…
Cheese.

M – How do you feel about MEETING new people?
I love having the opportunity to meet new people whether it be virtually
or in real life. It’s been so amazing to grow a community on Twitter
and then be able to foster those relationships in the real world. One
can never have too many friends. Additionally, I have a job that requires
me to interact with a variety of different people. This is one of the more
fun aspects of my day-to-day work at the library. Sure people can be
rude assholes but many more are kind, interesting people fumbling
through life just like I am.

N – What’s the story of your NAME?
I was named for my father’s favorite aunt. My first name is her middle
and my middle is her first. She is one of the kindest women I know
and I feel so fortunate that me daughter, who bears my same
middle name, has had the opportunity to know her great great aunt.

As for my online name… I’ll never tell but know that it describes me perfectly.

O – OBSERVANT: What’s around you right now?
A stack of books to learn the guitar, my iPhone, a glass of water, my
beautiful girl’s school photo, spreadable brie and crackers.

P – Who are the special PEOPLE in your life?
Early in life I learned that family is not bond by blood relations but by
the relationships that are the strongest. I have chosen my family.

Q – Any little QUIRKS about yourself?
Too many to name but my need to organize my closet by color and then
style seem to attract the most comments.

R – What do you like to do for RECREATION?
My leisure activities tend to be pretty typical. I enjoy reading, music,
movies, time with friends and family. I wish I could say something
outrageous like skydiving but sadly, no.

S – Do you SING in the shower? In the car? For your friends?
YES! I sing all the time… in the shower, in the car, in the library and I will
sing to whoever is standing close. I see musical numbers everywhere I
go (Remember that tv show Eli Stone? That.)

T – What’s at the top of your TO DO LIST?
Which one? My work to do list feels like a revolving door to nowhere.
My home to do list is gathering dust. It’s never ending. If we are talking
more along the lines of a “bucket list,” my number one thing to do
would to be passionately kissed at the top of the Eiffel Tower.

U – Any UNUSUAL experiences?
I work with the public. Enough said.

V – VEGAS, Vienna, Venice, Vladivostock… How far have you
traveled? What’s your favorite city?
I have traveled throughout Western Europe and throughout the
United States, Canada, and the Bahamas. Someday I hope to visit
England, Scotland, and Ireland (as well as a hundred other places).

I am a big city girl. I love the feel of concrete under my feet which is
probably why my favorite cities have been Paris and New York.

W – WINTER, Spring, Summer, Fall… What’s your favorite season?
Hands down my favorite season is Fall – sweaters, football, changing
leaves, pie… what’s not to love?

X – EXes: Things you don’t do anymore but once did.
I no longer waste my energy on people and things that do not
matter.

Y – Any secret YEARNINGS?
There is a reason they are secret!

Z – ZERO to ZENITH: Where are you in your life? Still growing?
On an upward or downward curve? Just skating along?
I am proud to say that I am still growing and hope in ten years I will
give the same answer.

I would love to learn about you too, dear reader. If you complete this meme on your blog,
please share the link in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “Nutshell: Me

Leave a Reply

