Adventures: Pie

I will be the first to admit that my skills as a baker leave much to be desired. It takes patience to be a successful baker which is not a character trait I have ever possessed. I am the queen of forgetting to add the butter or adding too much of one ingredient or another. As a cook, I am fantastic but as recently pointed out by a friend, I lack the essential sense of love for baking that causes desserts to yummy (see: Baked with Love).

A few months ago I enjoyed the most amazing mango pie prepared by my best friend, @PapiHelman. Now faced with a potluck at work, I decided to give it a go. If he can do it, so can I!

It’s been years since I made a pie so I had forgotten my pie pan had belonged to @Warehouse_Guy’s grandmother. She was a master baker and made monster pies, both in size and taste. Here is her 14″ pie pan:

Grandma’s slices were inherently large so you would never dare ask for a “big piece.”

So I set to work lining the pan with a refrigerated pie crust. The 9″ crust looked silly but functional. I then moved on to the most arduous task of this entire undertaking… peeling and chopping the mangoes.

Once peeled and chopped the remaining ingredients were added. The mixture consists of mangoes, sugar, almond extract, cinnamon (I used a cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice mix), flour, lemon juice, egg, and water. The mixture was then poured into the pan and covered with a second pie crust.

  

Then into the over to bake for 60-90 minutes at 350*, after which time it looked like this:

At today’s potluck, my pie proved to be very popular and was gobbled up quickly. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a little proud of this effort. This success has built my confidence and I will be making a second pie to take to Thanksgiving dinner with the in-laws.

Could there be a baker trapped inside somewhere?

One thought on “Adventures: Pie

Leave a Reply

