Fashion or Style?

“Fashion fades, only style remains the same.” ~ Coco Chanel

As I continue to build my wardrobe, I try to keep this thought in mind. I really have never been one to follow trends but lately I’m finding I am buying into a fashion trends. It is my desire to be considered someone with style ~ a classic style that is always in fashion. Most wouldn’t believe to hear that just a few years ago all I wore were turtleneck sweaters, jeans, and ballet flats or sneakers. The older I get the more I seem to care, the more effort I put toward the face I give the world.

Yesterday I was talking with some coworkers about the show Fashion Hunters on Bravo. On one episode a prison orange, parachute jump suit was brought into the consignment shop and the staff went nuts. I tipped my head and squished my face. While I recognize that fashion among wealthy New Yorkers and middle class Midwesterners is very different, I just couldn’t understand owning such an outrageous piece. It is incredibly dated (the current Donna Karan line for Neiman Marcus excluded. This collection seems to have much more of a tailored sophistication then past parachute collections.) and out of fashion quickly. While I am trying to take more of a “fearless fashion” approach, I am still a classic girl at heart.

I have spent so many years out of touch and out of style that I am trying desperately to harness too much at one time. My challenge to myself is to slow down and take the wise words of the impecible Miss Coco Chanel to heart.

Leave a Reply

