My own personal fairyland

“Don’t you know that everybody’s got a Fairyland of their own?”
~ Mary Poppins, Chapter 2 The Day Out, by P.L. Travers

 

Recently, I started reading Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers to Lil’ A. We have always thought it important to expose her to literature that challenged her, so we have sprinkled in chapter books and poetry among the picture books most commonly read to a child of her age. She enjoys cuddling up close to hear the stories and I adore the cuddling and revisiting of beloved books from my childhood. Mary Poppins is a good choice since we can make references to the movie which help A stay focused on the story. Also key, we recap as we read by asking open ended questions to help he comprehend the story.

But I digress…

The above quote from the end of chapter 2 struck me. I have always been a dreamer, a storyteller. More often than not I have a story or fantasy with me as a the heroine floating around in my head. I have always had a running story that I continue while trying to fall asleep. I just love this idea that Fairyland can mean something different to each of us.

Lately, I’ve had more time to daydream which can be good and dangerous at the same time. For years, my mother has been urging me to write a book and maybe this is my opportunity to make my Fairyland dance across a page for others to experience. On the other hand, I’ve been fiercely protective of the world I have built inside my head. Primarily because I don’t believe anyone would understand – judgmental rather than curious. That’s my hang up that I project onto others.

Until I find the courage to write more than a 400 word blog post I will continue to live in my own personal Fairyland.

5 thoughts on “My own personal fairyland

  1. I think that’s the girl in us. Or maybe just us. Cause I’m constantly the princess to my own fairy tale too… I thought that was normal. 🙂 My mom always said “dream big..” so, I do.

    p.s. you should absolutely write a book. You are a fabulous and intriguing writer.

    p.s.s. I like the new look. That’s actually on my list of “to-do’s” today… I’m bored with the look of mine.

    • Thank you for your sweet comments. I really should take a more serious approach to the writing thing. The blog is a good start, a place to gather my thoughts.

      I desperately the look overhaul. I never felt that the pervious theme suited my blog but now I’m happy. Looking forward to your new look!

      Mwah!

  2. Whenever you find the courage to post said work, we’ll read it . . . or, if you just want to share it, well, you can email it to me. It sounds like a wonderful diversion.

    And, I, also, always have a story running in my head . . . it helps keep the voices at bay.

  3. The Mary Poppins books are very insightful and meaningful, as the author said herself, she didn’t write the books for children. The film is so different too and a mish mash of scenes, as per usual for Disney e.g. Alice in Wonderland and Alice Through the Looking Glass. The same goes for the other iconic ‘other world’ training manual The Wizard of Oz books. So many of these stories are so well written by people who knew about the depths of the human experience and psyche.

    It’s obvious the author was very interested in the esoteric movements and alternative knowledge as well as being very well written mixing fantasy and truth. I particular found the scenes with the cat people, the man on the moon and the zoo interesting especially when it’s noted that the king of snakes is Mary Poppins’ cousin. Then there is the other tangent altogether when baby Annabel still remembers who she is and talks with the birds.

    I think stories like The Secret Garden are less symbolic or less filled with information but still portray the veil-reality theme as well as deal with social issues.

Leave a Reply

