Oscar 2012 Fashion {Style Review}

I watched the whole damn thing. I wish I hadn’t but I did. The show drug on and on and lacked excitement or even relevance. Truth? I really only watch for the dresses, the shoes, the jewels. It is a girlie-girl dream come true! So here is a rundown of my faves and those that left me shaking my head.

THE BEST!

Michelle Williams
Love the color and over all look of this Louis Vuitton gown. Michelle look divine and was style beautifully!

Octavia Spencer
Now that is how you do curves! This Tadashi Shoji gown fits her perfectly.

Gwyneth Paltrow
I love everything about Gwyneth’s Tom Ford gown (but then I love everything about Tom Ford). The fit! The color! The Cape! I audibly said “Wow!” when she appeared on my TV screen. Gorgeous. Now the hair is a different story.

Ellie Kemper
This rust colored sequin gown by Armani Prive is stunning! It really sparkled on the Red Carpet and brought out the beauty of her skin tone and hair color.

Emma Stone
This is one red-head that can pull off a red gown with grace and style! I loved the romantic, flowiness of this Giambattista Valli gown. And seriously… she was so cute presenting. Emma made Ben Stiller seem like an old fuddy.

Jessica Chastain
Does anything less than perfection come out of Alexander McQueen? The team there are truly honoring McQueen’s memory with superb work and Jessica’s gown is no exception!

Tina Fey
When I grow up I wanna be Tina Fey. And if I can also have her custom Carolina Herrera gown that would be nice too! Tina embodied glamour from head to toe!

Gwyneth Paltrow and Tina Fey were my absolute favorites from last night’s Red Carpet but I’m going to hand it to Tina Fey for completing the look down to every detail. Sorry Gwyneth! It was the hair.

THE GOOD!

Natalie Portman
Natalie looked gorgeous in this Vintage Dior gown from the 1954 Spring collection. I really loved the overall look even though it has been panned by critics. I think the issue is that the print photographs poorly and that it probably looked like perfection in person. Her styling was spot on but honestly, how can you go wrong with Harry Winston around your neck?

Nancy O’Dell
This color is WOW! I’m not sure I love the black lace on top. Her Chagoury Couture gown would have been exquisite without it but love love love the yellow!

Louise Roe
Who? Who cares! She looks amazing in this Black Halo gown. The soft pink compliments her skin tone perfectly and the style has a vintage feel with a modern twist.

Special mention… Glenn Close, Virginia Madsen, Nina Garcia, Penelope Cruz (except for the hair), Stacy Keibler, Maria Menounos, and Leslie Mann – all looked absolutely amazing on the red carpet. Oh and Busy Phillips shoes! LOVE!

THE MEH

 Cameron Diaz
I don’t love. I don’t hate. Cameron’s Gucci gown was just meh to me. The color was boring. Her styling looked like she could be going anywhere. It was overall an unoffensive look.

Sandra Bullock
When bad dresses happen to beautiful people… Sandra’s Marchesa gown is just that. The gold applique at the waist looks like claws grabbing hold and what the hell is going on at the shoulders? What saves this from landing in the worst category? THE BACK! I caught a glimpse of the back of this gown and it was super sexy. Plus she is styled perfectly.

Jennifer Lopez
I am so very bored with her. She looks beautiful. She always does but haven’t we seen this same look from her a million times? And I don’t care what her stylist says, I was a very noticeable wardrobe malfunction when she was presenting.

THE WORST

Angelina Jolie
Another boring look. There was just nothing special about Angelina’s Atelier Versace gown. I did not like her styling and simply hated the over exaggerated pose. She looks unhealthy to me which detracts from the overall look.

Rooney Mara
Just because she was wearing Givenchy and has dark hair with severe bangs, does not mean she is Audrey Hepburn incarnate. I found absolutely nothing appealing about this gown or Rooney’s overall look. The design at the bust looks awkward and the color is just wrong for her. Any comparison to Ms Hepburn would be a mistake, as Rooney lacks the grace and softness that were hallmarks of Givenchy’s muse.

Kelly Osbourne
No! No! No! Kelly’s Badgley Mischka dress is less offensive to my eyes than Rooney Mara’s Givenchy but that hair! The dress might be salvageable without the sleeves because the overall fit is very flattering. But Kelly! We must talk about this hair. It just looks like cotton candy gone wrong. The color is not brilliant enough to be edgy or soft enough to be interesting. Please start over!

Not so special mention… Melissa McCarthy (Girl! Get with Octavia Spencer’s stylists. They know how to do curves), Sherri Shepherd, and Judy Greer… Beautiful women who sadly missed the mark last night.

And that’s a wrap! What looks did you love or hate?

Check out the style reviews by my fellow fashionistas… JacMarie and Amy!

*All photos courtesy of People.com

2 thoughts on “Oscar 2012 Fashion {Style Review}

Leave a Reply

