Girls night at the ballet!

Last night, my mom, lil’ A, and I had a girls night out! It was so great to have my mom here without any boys to interfere. She took a rare weekday off and it was great. The best visit we have had in a very long time. I was scheduled to read to lil’ A’s class yesterday morning and my mom arrived just in time to join us, making it all the more special.

We had lunch at one of our favorite Greek restaurants, Cafe Mediterranean. Their kibbie is delish! And then home to relax a bit before our big night out.

After we got all dolled up, we headed to Mozart’s Bakery & Piano Cafe for dinner and dessert. Dinner was fantastic as usual and we were treated to lovely piano music while we dined. The pianist played some familiar tunes for lil’ A’s enjoyment and she even danced. My mom and I each had apple tarts with an orange glaze and A picked out a Champagne Strawberry torte which was heavenly (it was only right that I give it a taste test!).

Green eggs & ham! That is not unhappiness on her face but a pose. There isn't just one ham in this photo!

Then it was off to the ballet! This was lil’ A’s third BalletMet performance. My little ballerina went to see the Nutcracker in December 2010 and Cinderella in February 2011. At age 4, she is ballet pro! The wonderful part about taking her to see performances of the Nutcracker and of ballet’s based on fairy tales, is the literary connection we can make. We read the stories prior to the performances which helps her understand the action of the ballet all the more. Plus it makes the evening more enjoyable for me since I am not constantly explain what she is seeing on stage.

My ballerina princess

If you ask her, she will tell you she wants to be a ballerina when she grows up. And while I know this dream may not last forever, I plan to give her every opportunity to explore the world of ballet. It is my job to encourage her and provide her the experiences to find her path. Plus, going to the ballet is fun.

Lil' A and her nana at The Sleeping Beauty

My mom lives 2 hours away and I am so thrilled when she is able to participate in these big moments of A’s life. These two are inseparable when together. I just adore watching them for several reasons. First, I never really had a relationship with either of my grandmothers. One passed when I was 6 years old and the other was too self-absorbed to notice me. Second, I feel like I am getting a glimpse into the past. I like to imagine this is how my mother was with me when I was a little girl. She is constantly remarking on how much A reminds her of me and that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. A cuddled in her nana’s lap during the entire performance. It allowed me to observe her reactions and record the memory.

I simply love the Ohio Theater. It is so beautiful and elegant. From the moment you walk in the atmosphere just makes you feel as if everything is richer and more special. Down went the lights and up went the curtain… instantly we were transported to another world (our 3rd row center seats didn’t hurt this either – go mom!).

The performance was spectacular! The costumes were exquisite! The evening was perfection!

3 thoughts on “Girls night at the ballet!

  1. Pingback: Pearlfection? Maybe not. | With glitter in her veins…

Leave a Reply

