We’re all mad here

I absolutely love The Adventures of Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. It is one of my all-time favorite books. So much so that this past Halloween I dressed as Alice for a costume party.

There are so many wonderful quotes but the phrase that most speaks to me is when Alice says, “Curiouser and curiouser.” It simply and succinctly captures my outlook on life and how I view the world. Each day something new, something increasingly more interesting crosses my path. I’m in such awe of our amazing and mysterious world and of the people in it. I wanted to somehow translate this into art… a permanent reminder to always look of the unique and interesting around me.

My dear friend Nikki designed a tattoo for me using this favorite quote and that also reflects the whimsy of the book and my outlook. I have been carrying it around in my wallet for at least 6 months until my most recent trip to Knoxville, TN. To celebrate J’s birthday, 3 of us decided to get tattoos. If I hadn’t already had this design, I probably wouldn’t have joined in but I had been dying for months to have it done. After a complete inspection of the tattoo artist’s work, I happily joined in!

Anna at True Blue Electric Tattoo in Knoxville did my newest tattoo from Nikki’s original design and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

It is on the inside of my right wrist and can be read by me and whoever is facing me. The design is simple and works well with my overall style. It is also the perfect companion to my first tattoo.

The open book is on the inside of my left ankle and represents me as a reader, life-long learner, and librarian. Wendy at Kustom Kulture in Tallmadge, OH created this tattoo from a photo I brought in. It was a great first experience and I truly love it.

Both of my tattoo experiences have been very positive and I’m already dreaming of a third design.

2 thoughts on “We’re all mad here

  1. The tattoo healed so nice!!! I’m so glad you liked what I designed for you. You’re the first person (besides myself) to ever have my artwork permanently placed on their body for life 😉 If you didn’t pull the trigger and FINALLY get this done, I was going to have to get it ink’d on myself 😉

    • I really love it! I can’t wait for us to put our heads together for another design. I have a few things in mind but you are my artist!!

Leave a Reply

