What I wore tonight… {Vintage Japanese style top}

Lil’ A and I were invited to a Matilda Jane trunk show this evening at Amy’s studio in the Short North. I just love being in the Short North so any reason to be downtown works for me but add two of my favorite girl friends and I’m there! The Matilda Jane clothing was a adorable and there were several things I wish I could have purchased for A but the price tags were a bit much for this out-of-work librarian. I did feel inspired to think more seriously about making a few dresses for her instead.

Even though we weren’t painting the town red, I decided to dress for going out.

Red & black Japanese style top ~ vintage, thrifted
Black cropped pants ~ Dockers from Kohl’s
Red sling back heels with buckle detail ~ thrifted
Black & rhinestone square ring ~ Target
Black beaded chandelier earrings ~ birthday gift from my mama

I’ve been dreaming about wearing this top for months but the weather warmed up making it uncomfortable. This evening was much cooler than it has been so I went for it! I even continued the bold look with a smoky gray eye and red lips.

I love the idea of pairing this top with a black pencil skirt for a more professional look or with dark jeans to make it more casual. So many wonderful options!

Leave a Reply

