Nikki’s Boot Camp

I looked in the mirror yesterday and I did not like what I saw. It’s been building for a few weeks, as my clothes have stopped fitting properly. And for a girl who is a huge fan of clothing and fashion, to not have her closet be on her side is a major issue. Then the tipping point came last night. K asked me to purchase a bathroom scale. Enough said.

The number that appeared shocked and horrified me. I simply can’t believe I have let myself get to this point. Of course there are a billion “reasons” as to the HOW I got here… depression over horrific accidents and job loss, medications that cause weight gain, blah blah blah. The truth is I’ve been complacent. I’ve let all the shit define me for the last year and it’s time to knock it off.

So how do I get started?

Call Nikki!

Nikki is truly an inspiration (read her blog!) and as a real friend she has zero problem being brutally honest with me about the changes I need to make. Plus she’s been there.

For the first time I feel like I have a clear plan to attack this problem. I lost a lot of weight last year but getting there was a confusing struggle that was laced in shame because I wasn’t quite meeting the goals the nutritionist and acupuncturist felt I should be meeting.

Beginning today I change my eating habits by actually eating.

Breakfast… Snack… Lunch… Snack… Dinner… Snack…

That is a lot of food in my mind but for someone who doesn’t always even eat 2 meals a day, it would seem that way.

I will be keep a food diary, drinking a minimum of 8 glasses of water, and moving my ass more.

Here I go!

5 thoughts on “Nikki’s Boot Camp

  1. Best of luck — making the decision to start getting yourself “on track” is the hardest part, as I’m sure you know. I’m having a lot of trouble finding my post-vacation mojo.

  2. I know you can do this and I will be there to kick your ass forward, every step of the way. Time to leave the past where it belongs and move toward better things.

  3. Pingback: Screw hard work | With glitter in her veins…

  4. Pingback: Get Fit {Thinking Positive} | With glitter in her veins…

  5. Pingback: Weighing in | With glitter in her veins…

Leave a Reply

