Screw hard work

Image by Studio Mela

Let me begin this post by saying that I am a skeptic by nature. I take almost nothing at face value or just on faith. I question everything. I read the fine print. I seek out the evidence. If it sounds to good to be true, it always is. Period.

So I’m lounging in bed enjoying a little time with Pinterest, when K bounds in all a twitter about something he was watching. He couldn’t remember what it was called but I just had to hear him out (because he knows I’ll be rolling my eyes in about 90 seconds). This show was all about the secret to the universe and how by simply thinking positively I could attain anything I wanted. The universe would sense it and the laws of attraction would just make it so. He was gaga over this concept. I was laughing and rolling my eyes.

Me: “Is this show called The Secret?”

Him: “Yeah! Yeah, that’s it!”

Me: “This was on Oprah like 5 years ago and everyone wanted to check the book out from the library.”

Him: “It’s amazing stuff! Do you think you could do it? Imagine what it is you really want over the next 6 weeks. Think positively without letting in the negative. Could you do it?”

Me: “So screw hard work and just think positive?”

Him: “YES! Essentially, yes. Could you do it?”

Could I?

Forget that I find all this to be a giant crock of shit… Could I think 100% positively over the next 6 weeks about something I truly wanted?

I want to say that I could. I really do. However, while I am essentially a happy person, I am also internally a very negative person by nature and nurture. I’m always waiting for the other shoe to drop. I plan for the inevitable disappointments and betrayals. I try to have a back-up plan. My successes have been because I worked my ass off not due to some misguided belief in luck. I am such a Capricorn.

By approaching life this way am I just setting my self up for eventual failure or protecting myself from the way of the world? Am I doing it wrong? Should it be about more than just hard work?

While discussing my new get healthy goals, Nikki mentioned that something she did was to create a dream board of goals she wanted to reach by the end of the year. I like the idea and it might make me change my mindset to be more positive and more positive in HOW I accomplish my goals.

So my new challenge is to establish 5 goals I want to focus on and think positive about over the next 6 months. Over the next 5 days I will blog about each goal and what I hope to accomplish. Positive thinking AND hard work… NOT looking behind my back for the next zombie attack… Being conscious of how my actions effect those around me while reaching my goals…

The last 7 months have been brutal and I’ve been standing in my way of moving forward. Recently, I’ve made some baby steps toward emotional healing but I have a long way to go. I hope this effort toward positive thinking will help me begin to mend my spirit.

P.S. I still think it’s baloney that universe would just hand you what you want just because you packaged the thoughts with rainbows and kittens.

7 thoughts on “Screw hard work

  1. Pingback: Get Organized {Thinking Positive} | With glitter in her veins…

  2. Pingback: Get Paid {Thinking Positive} | With glitter in her veins…

  3. Pingback: Get Fit {Thinking Positive} | With glitter in her veins…

  4. Pingback: Get Involved {Thinking Positive} | With glitter in her veins…

  5. Pingback: Get Romantic {Thinking Positive} | With glitter in her veins…

  6. Pingback: Bring on Fall! | With glitter in her veins…

Leave a Reply

