Jersey Shore!

After the tumultuous year, I don’t think K or I believed we would be able to take a vacation. Travel simply is not in the budget. Period. However, we received an amazingly generous offer to stay for a week at Chez Hynes, our dear friends Nikki and Mike.

So we packed up the car and made the 8 hour trek to New Jersey.

Top left: S I M P Squirrel in K’s pants!
Top Right: Toes on the road
Bottom Left: My hipster chic chia latte
Bottom Right: Where I wanna live! Long live 10!

It was a really wonderful week. Here’s a taste of some of the fun (once I get all the photos off my camera I’m sure there will be another post)!

Black light mini golf. The artwork on the walls was super cool. Glowzo kinda freaked me out but I have a thing against clowns.

A trip to Thompson Park allowed the kids to feed the deer.
We ended the day with a bonfire.

Best friend love! Good thing I’m not the jealous type. Ha!

Dumby cop patrols the neighborhood. Only in Jersey!

Top row: Long Branch Beach
Middle Left: My beach bum!
Middle Center: Point Pleasant Beach
Middle Right: The shells were amazing!
Bottom Left: Beach Ice Cream Man!
Bottom Center: Face painting on the Boardwalk
Bottom Right: K cuddles with his Boardwalk winnings!

Of course no vacation would be complete without good food and there was plenty! Nikki made a huge from-scratch Italian meal for us the first night with ALL THE MEAT (which was kind of a theme for the week). I ate way too much and found 6 of the 8 lbs I had lost prior to vacation in Jersey.

Top Left: Nikki made us these adorable mini-ice cream cakes for our anniversary
Top Center: More ice cream cake! This time to celebrate Matthew’s 8th birthday.
Top Right: S’mores cookies ~ deadly!
Middle Right: Lunch on the Boardwalk
Bottom Right: Chocolate Peanut Butter ice cream 
Featured Photo: Beer battered cod atop mashed potatoes during a lunch with a friend at Due Mari in New Brunswick. AMAZING!

It was nice to actually have the time with our hosts to hang out rather than feeling rushed in the short weekend visits we’ve had in the past. I can’t wait for them to visit in the Fall!

One thought on “Jersey Shore!

  1. I’m so glad you guys were able to come and spend the week with us. Wish we could have done more stuff but mother nature is a bitch. Plus, now we have stuff to do next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

