Roaring ’20s Inspiration

Saturday we are heading to a 1920s themed murder mystery party. I am beyond excited to get all dressed up and play pretend for a little while. Of course like the good little obsessive-compulsive that I am, there has been plenty of research!

1920s evening dress by Coco Chanel

1920s evening dress by Coco Chanel

Since I’m pretty confident The Met isn’t going to loan me the above gem, I need to get creative to find the best ensamble possible! The character assignment I received suggested to dress as a flamboyant flapper so I’ve decided to make a simple flapper style dress. My hope is to find fabric and embellishments that give the dress lots of flare.

Flapper dress pattern inspiration

Flapper dress pattern inspiration

This basic style will serve as my template. I’m hoping to find blue and sparkly fabric to work my magic. I’ve never made a piece for me to wear so I’m a touch nervous but it can’t be too difficult to make a boxy dress with an uneven hemline, right? The drop waist and headpiece will either be black or silver depending on the fabric I find.

I am convinced that this outfit will be made in the styling… hair, make-up, and accessories.

Classic finger waves with headpiece

Classic finger waves with headpiece

Bold eye makeup

Bold eye makeup

Red lips and pearls

Red lips and pearls

Half-moon manicure

Half-moon manicure

Today lil’ A and I hit Target and the Goodwill where I made a few purchases to get started.

T-strap heels, fishnet stockings, and three long strands of pearls

T-strap heels, fishnet stockings, and three long strands of pearls

I would love to find arm length gloves but that might be more of a challenge this time of year. Tomorrow I plan to hit the fabric store and a second Goodwill (still piecing together K’s costume as well). More to come!

3 thoughts on “Roaring ’20s Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Where I get “auf’d” | With glitter in her veins...

  2. Pingback: Murder Mystery 1920s Style | With glitter in her veins...

Leave a Reply

